Fun with Limericks OR How to Mortify Your Sixth Grader in 3 Easy Stanzas

My daughter stayed home with a bad cold yesterday. When I got up this morning, I remembered that we needed to send an excuse note to school with her. We got a little silly with it.

The first is by my husband, the second is mine, and the third is by her 8-year-old sister.

We added a “P.S.” for legitimacy.

Fun with limericks

I tried to get my sixth-grader to write one, but she wasn’t having it. She was mortified. I hope she at least turns it in!

My daughter Katie has been sick.
That’s why I’m writing this limerick.
She will be back today.
She is feeling OK,
And I assure you this is not a trick.
-J.

I’m writing this note for my daughter.
To school today, I have brought her.
She was filled up with snot,
She was coughing a lot,
So she stayed home and watched Harry Potter.
-K.

My sister Katie is sick.
I think it is all a big trick.
She watched Harry Potter
While sipping cold water,
And I want to hit her with a big stick.
-G.

Leave a Reply

